Jesus Wears a Wifebeater

More nonsense from Ignorant Christian Mike.

Mike: “If I am a “good person” that only makes me a philanthropist and, good or bad, it is moot. It still leaves me with all the same flaws and sinfulness that non-Christians will use to call me a hypocrite and that cause so much pain and suffering. I am not “made sinless” by Jesus and will continue to hurt others and act selfish. That is why I NEED Jesus Christ. My relationship with Him does not “make me a good person” – it reconciles my sins with the creator and creates a home for me in heaven, I pray.”

Wow! Where do I begin? There is so much wrong with this that it is almost incoherent. I’m going to try to break it down to what I believe is the root of his argument.

  • Good or bad without god is moot.
  • People are flawed and “sinful.”
  • People cause pain and suffering.
  • I’m not automatically a good person because I label myself as a Christian and believe in Jesus.
  • Jesus forgives all my human wrongdoings which allows me to go to heaven.

With all things being equal, there is no difference between non-Christians and Christians except the forgiveness-of-sins-loophole of Christianity. This is why, based on Christian doctrine, Anne Frank burns in Hell while Adolf Hitler dines with Jesus in Heaven, that is if he believed in John 5:24, “Very truly I tell you, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be judged but has crossed over from death to life.” I believe he did. Read more on Hitler’s Christianity here.

Notice the self-loathing in the comment. Do you notice the similarities between this Christian love and an abusive relationship?

  • The victim is afraid of the abuser
  • Abusers use of threats and intimidation to force compliance
  • Abusers withhold resources from victims
  • Abusers instill feelings of inadequacy in victims
  • Victims feel they deserve to be punished by their abusers
  • Victims are not trusted by abusers
  • Emotional dependency of the abuser on the victim
  • Blaming the victim for the abusers actions
  • “He only hits me because he loves me so much.”

If any of the above bullet points need further explaining, or if you disagree, please leave a comment below and we can discuss.

Jesus is worse than an abusive husband. At least the wife can either leave or die to get rid of the man. But with Jesus, you do what he says and believe in him or you’ll suffer eternal torment. ETERNAL TORMENT. Think about this for a second. Here is an “all-loving” god. Now think about you and someone you love–it could be your spouse, your child or your pet. I’m sure each one of you can think of someone that helps you understand unconditional, all-loving feelings. We could be upset with that person sometimes or upset if our pet pees on the rug. But is there any crime that you can think of that would require an eternal sentence? This is forever. Hellfire. Torture. Forever. And what is the crime? I didn’t believe in him? Really? You’re an asshole, Jesus. You gave me a brain that reasons but you tell me not to use it and to believe in you. And you don’t provide any reason or evidence to make me believe. Could you imagine, if I led my life in a moral way without belief in god, I die and go to heaven and then Jesus says, “Dude, c’mon. You didn’t believe in me.” I’d be like, “Fuck you, Jesus. I’d rather burn in hell forever than sit at the right hand of a narcissistic prick like you.”

Now imagine that person you love so dearly. Imagine they turn atheist but you were a Jesus Freak (not sure how this works with pets, let’s just assume all dogs go to Hell). You both die. You go to heaven for worshiping an egomaniac but that person you love so dearly burns in hell for eternity, being probed up the ass with hot pokers and shit like that. How could you enjoy heaven knowing the person you love is being raped by burning metal rods? And all for not believing. I mean that person could have rescued 100 people from the World Trade Center on 9/11 but if they were an atheist they are now suffering for all eternity. This is mafia boss shit, “If you pay me, I’ll let you keep your business.”

I would like to end this with Mike’s first point. Good or bad is moot without God. Is he stating that the only reason he is good is to get into heaven? The cartoon in this blog really brings up an interesting point. Is Mike good just to get the reward of heaven? Would he rape and pillage if we all of a sudden made the discovery god does not exist? We don’t know what Mike would do. I know for myself that my actions are not because of god but because we inherently are good. It is just common sense and evolution can help explain it. Basically it is beneficial to our species if we all get along.

So we need to ask the following questions. Are there moral truths independent of god? Or are moral truths only true because god dictates it?

If moral truth exist without god, than it doesn’t matter if god exists to be moral. Therefore we can just forget god and go on living the good life. If, however, moral truths are only true because god dictates it, god could turn around tomorrow and say murder is moral. This is flawed for so many reasons. It is arbitrary. It’s god’s whim. Today love is good, tomorrow it is evil. And I’m willing to bet, if tomorrow we find an ancient text that says god says he now thinks murder is good, moral people would not accept it. Some might say that god already condones murder. Which in fact he does. Many people don’t know this, but the Ten Commandants were only for the Israelites. It wasn’t for outsiders. So when it says, “Thou Shalt Not Kill” it means thou shalt not kill Jews. Outsiders, sure. God’s such a xenophobe. But don’t trust me on this, the bible itself proves this. God ordered the death of many outsiders.

When the trumpets sounded, the army shouted, and at the sound of the trumpet, when the men gave a loud shout,the wall collapsed; so everyone charged straight in, and they took the city. They devoted the city to the Lord and destroyed with the sword every living thing in it—men and women, young and old, cattle, sheep and donkeys. – Joshua 6:20,21

What I find is ultimately the saddest part of Mike’s statement is this: Life is short. How much more of his time is he going to waste devoting himself to an abusive, wretched sky god? A lot I’m sure.

“Because I Love You!”

6 responses to “Jesus Wears a Wifebeater

  1. i’m sorry, but mike’s position doesn’t represent biblical christianity. it only represents the reformed calvinist and lutheran POV. Jesus died to pay the penalty for our sins, but rose again to give us His life and capacity to live Holy and acceptable lives unto God.

    mike’s position is neither logically nor biblically defensable, and should be condemned as heretical and antithetical to true christian theology and moral practice. thanks for giving opportunity to comment here.
    -mike(a different one)

    • Mike, thank you so much for your input. I am not surprised that your version of Christianity differs from (the other) Mike’s. That is why there are at least 41,000 denominations of Christianity.

      Can you explain to me what you mean by Jesus paid the penalty for our sins? What sins are you referring to that he paid the penalty for? Sounds like something I can use for a future blog.

  2. i’m not sure if i want to go into a dissertation here for you. there are many great resources on the Net and in bookstores to help you answer some of those questions.
    i’m sure you are very interested and don’t in anyway discount the idea of discussion with you, but i think i’m going to play the cowards way out and respectfully decline.
    i just wanted to speak to your very valid disagreement with the other mike’s ‘christian’ theology. thanks for the opportunity again.
    -mike

Leave a Reply

